Red Bull Racing

Timeline of Red Bull Racing. The history of Red Bull Racing in a timeline format. From its foundation to all the achievements throughout the years.


Red Bull Racing participates in inaugural event.

The 2005 Australian Grand Prix featured the debut of Red Bull Racing in Formula 1. The team continued with the Cogsworth engines favored by Jaguar Racing in year one and placed racer David Coulthard at the helm of the team. The team stayed in a steady sixth place for much of the year in the Constructors’ Championship and earned more points in one season than Jaguar Racing did when combining the two previous years.

Red Bull strategizes for 2006 season with switch to Ferrari season

With the 2005 season underway, plans for the 2006 season were taking shape, and Red Bull decided to use Ferrari engines the following year.

Red Bull makes it to the podium

At the 2006 Monaco Grand Prix, RBR earned its first podium finish with third place. Boss Christian Horner delivered on a promise by jumping into a race track pool wearing only a cape to commemorate the occasion. When the year concluded, RBR was 7th in the FIA Constructors’ Championship.

Red Bull Racing switches to Renault engines for 2007 season.

For the 2007 season, a big change was underway at RBR with the switch from a Ferrari engine to Renault. The team also became an Austrian constructor after obtaining an Austrian license but retained its base in Britain. Red Bull would finish the constructors’ championship in 5th.

Sebastian Vettel earns RBR its first win

Following lackluster results in the 2007 and 2008 seasons, Red Bull Racing scored a major victory with a win from driver Sebastian Vettel at the Chinese Grand Prix. His win followed securing Red Bull’s first pole position the day prior. Mark Webber also qualified in third for the team and placed second in the race. Vettel ranked second at the next race in Bahrain and both Vettel and Webber continued to rack up second and third positions until the British GP when Vettel again won. The duo scored another 1-2 at the German GP with Webber in the winning position. Webber would win again at the Brazilian Grand Prix and the pair would flip positions at Abu Dhabi.

Red Bull Racing finishes second in drivers’ and constructors’ championship

Sebastian Vettel finished second in the 2009 World Championship 11 points behind winner Jenson Button. Teammate Mark Webber would finish fourth, and their combined prowess elevated Red Bull Racing to second in the constructors’ champion for the year – the highest ranking yet for the team.

Red Bull Racing wins first Constructors’ Championship

Following a racing season with stunning performances by both Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber in Renault engine powered racers, Red Bull Racing secured its first ever constructors’ championship. RBR racing beat out McLaren and Ferrari and became the first Austrian team to win the Formula 1 title. At the last race of the season in Abu Dhabi, Sebastian Vettel won the Formula 1 Drivers’ Championship for the year. Overall, the Red Bull team logged nine Grand Prix wins with Vettel earning five and Webber four. The team achieved 15 pole positions and six fastest laps.

Sebastian Vettel claims second Driver’s Championship for Red Bull

At the 2011 Japanese Grand Prix, Sebastian Vettel earned his second driver’s championship for Red Bull Racing. Teammate Mark Webber would place third for the year, and their joint results would power RBR to a second Constructors’ Championship. In 2011, Vettel won 11 GP races, and Webber achieved a victory in the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Vettel and RBR threepeat for titles

The winning Red Bull combination of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber racing with Renault engines continued into 2012 with Vettel claiming his third drivers’ championship and RBR winning in the constructors’ category.

Red Bull Racing rebrands for title sponsor Infiniti

Red Bull Racing rebranded for the 2013 season as Infiniti Red Bull racing with the addition of automotive brand Infiniti as a title sponsor. The Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber team continued with Webber on a single-year contract and Vettel under a multi-year deal. 

Red Bull Racing, Sebastian Vettel earn fourth titles.

During the 2013 season, Mark Webber announced his plans for departure and Red Bull secured Daniel Ricciardo as his replacement. Sebastian Vettel and RBR earned their fourth consecutive championships. Vettel would retire following a disappointing 2014 season and Max Verstappen ultimately joined the Red Bull team after racer shuffling.

Red Bull Racing switches to Honda power

Following several years of diminishing or lackluster results, Red Bull Racing ended its partnership with Renault to utilize Honda power units. In August, Daniel Ricciardo also announced he was leaving the team for Renault. By the 2021 season, the team consisted of Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez.

Max Verstappen wins first drivers’ championship with Red Bull Racing

At the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in December 2021, Max Verstappen earned his first world title and secured the first Red Bull championship win since 2013. RBR was unable to break Mercedes’ hold on the constructor’s championship. Verstappen logged 10 wins in the 22 race season with Sergio Perez winning one race. Red Bull Racing-Honda finished second in the constructors’ championship, 28 points behind Mercedes.

Oracle becomes title sponsor

Red Bull Racing rebranded as Oracle Red Bull Racing through a partnership with Oracle software for title sponsorship. 

Potential partnership of Porsche and Red Bull unveiled

An application submitted by Porsche and Red Bull in July 2022 showed Porsche purchasing 50% of Red Bull Technology’s shares. Red Bull Technology is the parent of RBR and the Formula 1 program. An original intent was to have Porsche as an equal partner with Red Bull by 2026, but FIA approvals delayed the launch.